top of page
  • Michael Masterson

I Want That Old Thing Back

Cast of The Sandlot

What do I mean when I say this? I am specifically talking about the positive sports buzz I grew up with in my hometown and the surrounding areas; Bluefield, Princeton, Pikeview, Mount View, Beckley, Greenbrier East, and countless others. The spark of intensity whenever basketball and football season came around. The hometown pride that filled every gymnasium and field aforementioned. The players who knew they wouldn’t get the spotlight they deserved and played every night like they had something to prove.


We all know how much talent we have in our state and in the counties closest to us. Why does the world not? Why are we not celebrated more often by more people and outlets; whatever the reason may be that is out of my control, I am only speaking for myself as a fan and a close follower of local sports in this area for every year of life that I can remember. The talent is still here! The grit and work ethic is still here, the passion is still here.


What I do know is that it is a different time in our world. Social media has given us a real chance to let the world know who we are. As a member of Fresh Off The Clock and a lifelong representative of Bluefield, as well as West Virginia as a whole, I think I speak for us all at FOTC when I say that we feel obligated to shine a light on every athlete in this state putting the work in to be great. Not only to support us but also be supportive of everybody like us trying to do the same thing for the right reasons.


Bias isn’t the name of our game as a brand: in fact, there is no game at all, building up a place that we love is. Nothing more, nothing less. The buzz, the pride, the support, the belief that local sports give to an area like ours is second to none, and I don’t want to keep it a secret. Life-changing abilities live here and always have. Fresh Off The Clock will work hard to grow and grow until somebody doesn’t have a choice but to hear us. What we lack in experience or anything else that may make someone wary of supporting us, just stick around because while we are living by our purpose of getting our home respect, the motive will be evident.


I love Bluefield, I love West Virginia, and I think it is about damn time that the ability and great quality humans doing extraordinary things here become known to more than just us. These thoughts are mine and mine alone. I stand on them. Through interviews of the old and new legends, articles attesting to the old and new statistics, story by story, piece by piece we will show the world just who we really are. IT IS TIME TO CREATE OUR OWN NARRATIVE. IT IS TIME TO TELL OUR OWN STORY. After all, nobody can tell our story like we can.


The only promise I can make is to be as accurate, honest, and unbiased as I can, all while being as positive and supportive as humanly possible along the way. I am ready, to do what has never been done before and get what we have rightfully deserved for 40 years or more. The attention that is necessary to give people in our area the opportunity to change the lives of generations using the abilities they have been given, forever.


Until next time,

-Doc


60 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page